Results from Delayed Colorado House and Senate Leadership Elections

by Jeff Weist, Weist Capitol Group

After being delayed for more than a week because of several too-close-to-call races that determined control of both the Colorado State House and Senate after last Tuesday’s election, the last of the four caucus leadership elections took place this morning.  We now know the full leadership slate for the 2015-16 legislative sessions.

The major changes took place in the Senate, of course, which is now controlled by the Republicans by a slim 18-17 majority.  Senators Bill Cadman and Mark Scheffel, who lead the caucus for the last two years and coordinated the Republicans’ 2014 campaign, will continue to lead the caucus in the majority.  The top Senate Democratic leadership remains unchanged.

In the House, the departure of term-limited Speaker Mark Ferrandino lead to an interesting leadership battle that had been taking shape all year.  When the dust settled, Boulder Rep. Dickey Lee Hullinghorst was name the new House Speaker.

Here are the full leadership slates in both chambers.

Colorado State Senate

President – Sen. Bill Cadman (R-Colorado Springs)

President Pro Tem – Sen. Ellen Roberts (R-Durango)

Majority Leader – Sen. Mark Scheffel (R-Parker)

Asst. Majority Leader – Sen. Kevin Lundberg (R-Berthoud) Senator Kevin Lundberg (R-

Caucus Whip – Sen. Randy Baumgardner (R-Hot Sulpher Springs)

Caucus Chair – Sen. Vicki Marble (R-Ft. Collins)


Minority Leader – Sen. Morgan Carroll (D-Aurora)

Asst. Minority Leader – Sen. Rollie Heath (D-Boulder)

Caucus Whip – Sen. Jessie Ulibarri (D-Westminster)

Caucus Chair – Sen. Matt Jones (D-Louisville)


Colorado State House of Representatives

Speaker – Rep. Dickey Lee Hullinghorst (D-Boulder)

Majority Leader – Rep. Crisanta Duran (D-Denver)

Assistant Majority Leader – Rep. Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City)

Caucus Whip – Rep. Su Ryden (D-Aurora)

Deputy Whip – Rep. Brittany Pettersen (D-Lakewood)

Caucus Chair – Rep. Angela Williams (D-Denver)


Minority Leader – Rep. Brian DelGrosso (R-Loveland)

Asst. Minority Leader – Rep. Libby Szabo (R-Arvada)

Caucus Whip: Rep. Polly Lawrence (R-Douglas Co)

Caucus Chair – Rep. Lois Landgraf (R-Colorado Springs)

Share this story